High quality wines at the best price

Shopping Cart
item - Fr. 0.00
x

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: Fr. 0.00

chateau_gilette

More Views

Château Gilette, "Crème de Tête" - 1996

Sauternes

Availability: In stock

SKU: 4836

Fr. 154.01 (Fr. 143.00 Excl. Tax)
x6
Cotation
RVF : 18.5/20 Wine Spectator : 96/100
Varietal(s)
90% Sémillon, 8% Sauvignon, 2% Muscadelle
Degree
14°
Origin
France - Bordeaux
Type
White wine
Producer
Château Gilette
Maturity
2016-2028
Packaging
OWC of 6 bottles
Size
75 cl

Details

It has been a legend since the 1930s, when René Médeville had the genius to make a wine with a long shelf life (fifteen to twenty years) with a wine extracted from a very rich harvest. Situated in the heart of the village of Preignac, this tiny terroir of vines (4.5 hectares) is surrounded by the village walls and has been pampered by the Médeville family since the 18th century. René's ancestor, Numa Médeville received the lieu-dit Gilette in Preignac when he married Marie Despujols and has been the pride of the family ever since. René developed the technique of long conservation in concrete vats (without contact with the outside). His son, Christian, from 1959, will improve it so that each bottle becomes a real little jewel. Christian's nickname will be "the antique dealer of Sauternes". His daughter, Julie Gonet-Médeville, took over the torch of this noble wine, as well as the two other properties of the house: Château Les Justices and Château Respide-Médeville.

The soil in the vineyard of Château Gilette is very draining and is made up of a layer of sand and gravel, on top of limestone blocks. It has been organically enriched since the beginning and most of the plants are more than forty years old. The main grape variety (90%) is Semillon, with the rest Sauvignon Blanc and Muscadelle.

The botrytisation taking place at Château Gilette is due to three factors: the specific terroir of the commune of Preignac, the cold presence of the small tributary of the Garonne, the Ciron, whose morning mists allow the colonisation of the bunches by botrytis cinerea and finally, a sunny and windy climate which allows the grapes to dry out and concentrate the juice in sugar. As the fungus has created micro lesions on the skin, the grapes will see the water they contain evaporate in case of summer heat. We then speak of "roasted grapes". Château Gilette only produces its "Crème de tête" wine one year out of two, so demanding are the criteria. Indeed, after a meticulous harvest of each grape, 3 to 8 sorting are then carried out. After extraction of the juice, fermentation takes place for a few months. This is followed by a long period of fifteen to eighteen years of maturing in hermetically sealed cement vats. This stage will develop the fatness and the fabulous citrus fruit aromas that characterize the Sauternes of Château Gilette, free of any oxidation, which will give it an incredible freshness despite the years.

With its amber colour, with golden reflections, notes of bitter orange jam characterize it, as well as those of leather and caramelized roasted fruits. Powerful, very long on the palate and incredibly complex, such are the glowing descriptions of Château Gilette. As a wine pairing, in addition to the traditional foie gras, a platter of runny cheeses, a lobster or a quail with grapes will be perfect.

Cotation
RVF : 18.5/20 Wine Spectator : 96/100
Varietal(s)
90% Sémillon, 8% Sauvignon, 2% Muscadelle
Degree
14°
Origin
France - Bordeaux
Type
White wine
Producer
Château Gilette
Maturity
2016-2028
Packaging
OWC of 6 bottles
Size
75 cl

Customer Reviews

Review by Olya
Rating
100%
Review by Charles
Rating
100%

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Château Gilette, "Crème de Tête" - 1996

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating

chateau_gilette

Plus de vues

Château Gilette, "Crème de Tête" - 1996

Sauternes

Disponibilité : En stock

Réf.: 4836

Fr. 154.01 (Fr. 143.00 hors TVA)
x6
Cotation
RVF : 18.5/20 Wine Spectator : 96/100
Cépage(s)
90% Sémillon, 8% Sauvignon, 2% Muscadelle
Teneur en alcool
14°
Origine
France - Bordeaux
Type
Vin blanc
Producteur
Château Gilette
Apogée
2016-2028
Conditionnement
Caisse en bois de 6 unités
Format
75 cl

Détails

Un de nos fidèles clients s’est tellement enthousiasmé pour le Château Gilette qu’il en a fait un petit film (1’:51’’) en hommage à ce nectar. Drôle et décalé.


"Château Gilette, 27 ans d'attente pour le millésime 1953" : un article du Figaro Magazine.

Entré dans la légende depuis les années trente, date à laquelle René Médeville a le génie de procéder à de longues conservation (quinze à vingt ans) avec un vin extrait de vendanges très riches. Situé au sein du village de Preignac, ce tout petit terroir de vignes (4,5 hectares) est encerclé par les murs du village et est choyé par la famille Médeville depuis le XVIIIème siècle. L’ancêtre de René, Numa Médeville a reçu le lieu-dit Gilette à Preignac en épousant Marie Despujols et il fait la fierté de la famille depuis lors. René mettra au point la technique de longue conservation en cuve de béton (sans contact avec l’extérieur). Son fils, Christian, dès 1959, l’améliorera afin que chaque bouteille devienne un véritable petit bijou. Le surnom de Christian sera d’ailleurs « l’antiquaire de Sauternes ». Sa fille, Julie Gonet-Médeville, a repris le flambeau de ce vin noble, ainsi que les deux autres propriétés de la maison : le Château Les Justices et le Château Respide-Médeville.

De constitution très drainant, le sol du vignoble du Château Gilette est fait d’une couche de sable et de graves, au-dessus de blocs de calcaire et est enrichi organiquement depuis le début et la plupart des plants ont plus de quarante ans. Le cépage principal (90%) est le Sémillon, avec le reste de Sauvignon Blanc et de Muscadelle.

La botrytisation ayant lieu au Château Gilette est due à trois facteurs : le terroir spécifique de la commune de Preignac, la présence froide du petit afluant de la Garonne, le Ciron, dont les brumes matinales permettent la colonisation des grappes par le botrytis cinerea et enfin, un climat ensoleillé et venteux qui permet d’assécher les grains et de concentrer en sucre le jus. Le champignon ayant créé des micro lésions de la peau, le grain va voir l’eau qu’il contient s’évaporer en cas de chaleurs estivales. On parle alors de « raisin rôti ». Le Château Gilette ne produit son vin « Crème de tête » qu’une année sur deux tant les critères d’exigence sont élevés. En effet, après une récolte minutieuse de chaque grain, 3 à 8 tris sont ensuite effectués. Après extraction du jus, la fermentation a lieu durant quelques mois. Vient ensuite une longue période de quinze à dix-huit ans d’élevage dans des cuves en ciment fermées hermétiquement. Cette étape va développer le gras et les fabuleux arômes d’agrumes qui caratérisent le Sauternes du Château Gilette exempt de toute oxydation ce qui lui donnera une fraîcheur incroyable malgré les années.

Avec sa robe ambrée, aux reflets d’or, des notes de confiture d’oranges amères le caratérisent, ainsi que celles de cuir et de fruits rôtis caramélisés. Puissant, très long en bouche et incroyablement complexe, tels sont les descriptions dithyrambiques au sujet du Château Gilette. En accord mets-vins, outre le traditionnel foie gras, un plateau de fromages coulants, un homard ou une caille aux raisins seront parfaits.

Cotation
RVF : 18.5/20 Wine Spectator : 96/100
Cépage(s)
90% Sémillon, 8% Sauvignon, 2% Muscadelle
Teneur en alcool
14°
Origine
France - Bordeaux
Type
Vin blanc
Producteur
Château Gilette
Apogée
2016-2028
Conditionnement
Caisse en bois de 6 unités
Format
75 cl

Commentaires des clients

Review by Olya
Notation
100%
Review by Charles
Notation
100%

Rédigez votre propre commentaire

Vous commentez : Château Gilette, "Crème de Tête" - 1996

Quelle note donneriez-vous à ce produit ? *

  1 étoile 2 étoiles 3 étoiles 4 étoiles 5 étoiles
Notation